Buona Pasqua – Happy Easter … Eastgardens & Redfern April 2011

It’s a five-day stretch of public holidays due to Easter & ANZAC day falling together. In the olden days šŸ˜‰ shops shut all day for the entire Easter period, and on ANZAC day. Nowadays, Easter Saturday is just another Saturday, Good Friday is revered and the other days have limited trading hours.

On Wednesday, I noted the milk supply was dire, so off to the supermarket I went. Woolies at Redfern, where we ran into Charlie’s Dad (parents don’t have names) who also expressed that he and Charlie’s Mum have not ventured anywhere else since this supermarket opened. It is truly fabulous. Staff is wonderful as well. I really must congratulate Woolies on their mix of locals working in the store – such lovely people. They recognise us. I like that.

I noticed a lot of “markdown” stickers and it dawned on me, they had to get rid of items asap because of Easter. I have been told by a Woolworths employee (the store this person works at is in Sydney’s Inner West), that the amount of food thrown out – fresh produce for example, is mind-boggling. When I asked why doesn’t the store donate to charity, I was told items like bread is, but when it comes to other items, basically it’s all too hard. So this store has a particularly robust following of “dumpster divers”. I can believe it, as the items I saw/bought in Redfern Woolies had plenty of time in their best before/use by dates. And I have a freezer!! Half price roasts (Sunday dinner), prepared salads (lunch yesterday and today), sausages and mushrooms (last night’s dinner), bean sprouts (tomorrow night’s Vietnamese soup)… Bless my half Scot heart, went in for milk, came out with a trolley load of bargains.

Did you know the UK government is scrapping best before dates because they contribute to food waste? Please check out this link to Safe Guidelines on freezing meat – today’s bargain roast can be next month’s dinner.

BANANA INDEX
Coles Eastgardens $12.98/kg 16 April 2011
Woolworths Redfern $12.98/kg 20 April 2011

Don’t forget to vote – I’m polling the Banana price care factor

3 thoughts on “Buona Pasqua – Happy Easter … Eastgardens & Redfern April 2011

  1. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. However
    think of if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and videos,
    this site could undeniably be one of the best in its niche.
    Superb blog!

Leave a comment